Hamers Group News

Diamond Photocatalysis can reduce Nitrogen to Ammonia

Our newest paper, published June 30, 2013 in Nature Materials, we demonstrate a fundamentally new approach to photocatalytic reduction of N2 and other small molecules.

Congratulations to Sohil Shah, National Finalist in Siemens Math, Science, and Technology Competition

Congratulations to Sohil Shah, from James Madison Memorial High School and a member of the Hamers Research Group, on being named a Regional Finalist in the Siemens Competition in Math, Science, and Technology. 

WARF Innovation Awards

This year, through the WARF Innovation Awards program, the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF) began honoring inventors for the year’s m

New "Smart" electrodes for reducing CO2 to CO

In a new paper published in the Journal of the American Chemical Society,  the Hamers and Berry groups collaborated to produce "smart" electrodes that can reduce CO2 to CO.

Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology funded by NSF

The National Science Foundation has funded a new Center for Sustainable Nanotechnology.  With Prof. Robert Hamers as the center Director, the CSN

Upcoming publications and talks

Here is a selection of some of our most recent publications, most of which have just appeared or will appear shortly.  

Congratulations to our 2012 Graduates !

Three Ph.D. students, one M.S. student, and one B.S. student graduated from the Hamers group this spring.

Congratulations to Sohil Shah, 3rd place on National JSHS competition !

Congratulations to Sohil Shah, from James Madison Memorial High School, for his 3rd-place finish in the National Junior Science and Humanities Symposium (JSHS) held in Bethesda, MD May 2-6.   Sohil received a 3rd-place award for his project "Chemically Assembled Metal Oxide Heterostructures",  performed in our research groups over the last year.  His award inlcudes a $4,000 scholarship.

ACS on-line talks from Hamers symposium and Award Address

Didn't make it to the ACS Meeting?  The 2012 Spring ACS meeting featured a symposium in recognition of Bob Hamers' receipt of the ACS Award on Colloid and Surface Chemistry.  Featured speakers include Jillian Buriak, Andrew Teplyakov, Michael Henderson,  Yves Chabal, and Cynthia Friend.  The symposium talks were recorded and can be accessed on-line